I have been a Wyvern governor for nearly 20 years and it is with great pleasure and pride that I look back over that time and see how the College has improved. I believe that the College is at the heart of our community. It continues to be highly regarded not only for the examination results it achieves, but also for the excellent pastoral care that underpins the day to day life of the College. Wyvern caters for students of all abilities and one of the most important features of the organisation is that it always considers what is best for the student. We care about students’ examination results because they provide a good basis for their future careers. However, we also want students to study a range of subjects and develop a love of learning. In addition, we hope that they will participate in the wide range of extra-curricular opportunities that are on offer and develop into well-rounded citizens of the future.


Governors have a key role to play with a wide range of responsibilities and volunteer to take on the role because they can make a positive difference. By working alongside the Headteacher, staff, parents, and students, we can influence College life and strive for improvement. The Governors represent parents, staff and the wider community and regardless of our background and experience, we all want Wyvern to be the best it can be today, tomorrow and into the future.


Lynda Smith, Chair of Governors


The structure and remit of the Academy Trust, the Governing Body and information of those involved


The academy trust is a company limited by guarantee with no share capital and is an exempt charity.


Members of the Academy Trust

There are four Members of the Trust. They are the Headteacher, the Chair of Governors plus two others and these need not be Governors. Those in post during the academic year 2017/18 were as follows: Mr. Alan Newton (HT and  Governor), Ms. Lynda Smith (Chair of Governors) Mrs. Helen Douglas (non-Governor) , and Mr. Dave Mabey( Vice Chair of Governors ).


All Members and Governors are expected to declare any outside interest or influence that may conflict with their governance and a fully up to date register of these declarations is maintained.  The register as at 1 Sept 2018 can be found in the Governors menu.


The Members may appoint one Governor but all other strategic decisions and responsibilities  regarding the Academy are delegated to the Governing Body


The Governing Body

There are various types of Governor, appointed in different ways and from a variety of occupations, so that a cross-section of skills and experience is maintained. Governors are drawn from the local community and further afield. Each Governor serves a term of four years but this may be extend if the Governing Body agrees. To strengthen succession planning we aim to have a range of Governors with considerable experience working with newer Governors. Full details of the types and appointment methods are given in the Annual Report & Financial Statements (on this website in the Governors menu).   


The Governors, sometimes known as the Trustees, have many responsibilities but these can be summarized into three core functions:

  • setting the strategic direction of the Academy Trust
  • holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the College
  • ensuring financial health, probity and value for money.


The Governing Body delegates some of its responsibilities to Committees or individuals and the full details of these decisions can be found in the Scheme of Delegation which is also in the Governors menu. The day to day management and running of the College is delegated to the Headteacher. The present Committees in place are as follows: Audit; Curriculum & Standards; Finance; Pay; Personnel and Care, Guidance & Support. All Governors serve on at least one Committee; some have specific responsibilities that may match their specialist skills and most link up with a department and/or year group within the College to get an insight into its workings and to  get to know the staff.


Currently the  Full Governing Body  meets every half term, as do most Committees.  In addition the Chairs of the Committees meet regularly with the Members of the Academy, the College Business Manager and other invited Governors to discuss strategic planning. There are also Governor Panels that have specific duties relating to Student Disciplinary Issues , Staff Disciplinary Issues  and Grievances. There is also a Governors Panel  that assesses  the Headteacher’s performance against set targets.  Occasionally other working groups are formed for specific tasks. Attendance by Governors at the Full Governing Body meetings,   Committees and Chairs & Members meetings was very high at 86% (233 attendees out of 271) for the year . The Headteacher attends many of the meetings with other meetings  attended by relevant members of the Senior Leadership Team).


Governors holding position as at 1 September 2018


Information shown includes the date appointed and the end of their current term of office; their Committee membership and attendance levels .The committees are  Chairs & Members – C&M; Audit – Aud; Finance – Fin; Curriculum & Standards – C&S; Pay – Pay; Care, Guidance & Support – CG&S; Personnel – Pers. Other specific roles undertaken during the previous year and the department and/or year group to which the governors have been linked are also included.




If anyone is interested in becoming a Governor or wishes to make any enquiries concerning governance of the College, please do not hesitate to be in touch.  Initial contact should be made to the Clerk to the Governors:
Deb Tyler: clerk@wyvern.hants.sch.uk or by writing to her, care of the College address.


Contact Wyvern

Wyvern College
Botley Road
Fair Oak
SO50 7AN


Tel: 023 80692679

Fax: 023 80603215

Email: enquiries@wyvern.hants.sch.uk


Reception Opening Hours: 8:15am to 4:00pm


Follow us on: